NAME | SYNOPSIS | DESCRIPTION | OPTIONS | Examples | SEE ALSO | COLOPHON

LVREMOVE(8)                System Manager's Manual               LVREMOVE(8)

NAME         top

       lvremove — remove a logical volume

SYNOPSIS         top

       lvremove [-A|--autobackup {y|n}] [--commandprofile ProfileName]
       [-d|--debug] [-h|--help] [--nohistory] [--reportformat {basic|json}]
       [-S|--select Selection] [-t|--test] [-v|--verbose] [--version]
       [-f|--force] [--noudevsync] [LogicalVolume{Name|Path}...]

DESCRIPTION         top

       lvremove removes one or more logical volumes.  Confirmation will be
       requested before deactivating any active logical volume prior to
       removal.  Logical volumes cannot be deactivated or removed while they
       are open (e.g. if they contain a mounted filesystem).  Removing an
       origin logical volume will also remove all dependent snapshots.

       If the logical volume is clustered then it must be deactivated on all
       nodes in the cluster before it can be removed. A single lvchange
       command issued from one node can do this.

       If the configuration setting metadata/record_lvs_history is enabled
       and the logical volume being removed forms part of the history of at
       least one logical volume that is still present then a simplified
       representation of the logical volume will be retained.  This includes
       the time of removal (lv_time_removed reporting field), creation time
       (lv_time), name (lv_name), LV uuid (lv_uuid) and VG name (vg_name)
       and allows you to see the ancestry chain of thin snapshot volumes
       even after some intermediate logical volumes have been removed.  The
       names of such historical logical volumes acquire a hyphen as a prefix
       (e.g. '-lvol1') and cannot be reactivated.  Use lvremove a second
       time, with the hyphen, to remove the record of the former logical
       volume completely.

OPTIONS         top

       See lvm(8) for common options.

       -f, --force
              Remove active logical volumes without confirmation.  Tool will
              try to deactivate unused volume.  To proceed with damaged
              pools use -ff

       --nohistory
              Disable the recording of history of logical volumes which are
              being removed.  (This has no effect unless the configuration
              setting metadata/record_lvs_history is enabled.)

       --noudevsync
              Disable udev synchronisation. The process will not wait for
              notification from udev.  It will continue irrespective of any
              possible udev processing in the background.  You should only
              use this if udev is not running or has rules that ignore the
              devices LVM2 creates.

Examples         top

       Remove the active logical volume lvol1 in volume group vg00 without
       asking for confirmation:

       lvremove -f vg00/lvol1

       Remove all logical volumes in volume group vg00:

       lvremove vg00

SEE ALSO         top

       lvcreate(8), lvdisplay(8), lvchange(8), lvm(8), lvs(8), lvscan(8),
       vgremove(8)

COLOPHON         top

       This page is part of the lvm2 (Logical Volume Manager 2) project.
       Information about the project can be found at 
       ⟨http://www.sourceware.org/lvm2/⟩.  If you have a bug report for this
       manual page, send it to linux-lvm@redhat.com.  This page was obtained
       from the project's upstream Git repository 
       ⟨https://git.fedorahosted.org/git/lvm2.git⟩ on 2017-03-13.  If you
       discover any rendering problems in this HTML version of the page, or
       you believe there is a better or more up-to-date source for the page,
       or you have corrections or improvements to the information in this
       COLOPHON (which is not part of the original manual page), send a mail
       to man-pages@man7.org

Sistina Software UKLVM TOOLS 2.02.169(2)-git (2016-11-30)        LVREMOVE(8)